UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (17) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: renegade500 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308360  
Subject: CC+Student Loans=$150K: Help! Date: 5/23/2001 5:17 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I'm an on and off again lurker, and I was hoping I might get some ideas from y'all. (Sory, this turned out to be longer than I was expecting.)

I have about $150K total debt (not counting my car loan, which is still around $8K): $25,500 is credit cards, the rest (!) is student loans. My loans were not originally that large, but I've never been able to afford to start payments (I graduated 4 years ago with my PhD), so even though I get forebearances, the interest capitalizes and the principal continues to grow (I should mention they're already consolidated with a 30 year payment).

When I first graduated, I took a ft job at my university (not teaching, I had decided long ago I didn't want to go that route). That first job paid a whopping $21K a year (I was bringing home $1200 a month). I didn't stay in that job long, and moved to a better-paying position, where I stayed for 3 years.

6 months ago I left the public sector (for some reason, the state of Texas just doesn't want to pay their employees a living wage) for the private sector. I'm essentially in an entry level position, but making $38K a year (I bring home $2400 a month after taxes and a very modest 6% for 401K).

So far, I'm in good shape on making my credit card payments (I pay around $600 a month, but those are the minimums). My rent is $620, car payment/insurance/gas is roughly $320. Fortunately my utilities are low, phone, electric and water under $100, even in the summer when I run the AC a lot.