UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: WilliamLipp Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 75839  
Subject: Re: Retirement Date: 8/2/1999 10:51 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
chmiller10 Date: 8/2/99 9:37 AM Number: 12694
I am a newly retired teacher with 60K that I must rollover from my pension fund into an IRA. I have a broker at Prudential who was recommended to me by my mother and he has done very well by her.

This broker will probably be charging you much more than $10 commission per trade. The first question is whether you need such a broker - it doesn't sound like it below. You can find information about selecting a discount broker on the Discount Brokers board and their FAQ.

The second question is the standard used to measure "has done very well by her." The Foolish standard would be to compare the performance of her portfolio to the S&P500 with dividend reinvestments. The reasoning is that index investing is a no-effort approach that can be managed for extremely tiny fees, so anybody making money from your investments should be adding value above this "dumb-as-a-stump" approach." Take a 3-5 year period for the test, and take all money at the beginning of the period and invest in S&P500. Add and subtract cash the same as she did, buying and selling S&P500. It's simplest to ignore dividend reinvestment for the first approximation, and just use the S&P500 index (which does not reinvest dividends).

I am looking to do the Fool 22345