UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (17) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: mulesnx Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 74759  
Subject: Convince me to put money into a ROTH Date: 3/28/2006 2:09 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I have spent most of my money on real estate, not even thinking about alternative investments. Recently I have purchased some stocks which are doing average. I am 25 and am looking for other investments. ROTH accounts seem like they really don't pay back much (I think I am drawn to higher risk and higher yield investments). Can someone please convince me that it is worth putting the money into an account like this.

If I start putting the maximum amount in at my age, I think I figured I could have around $400K when I retire. That is not going to do anything 30 years from now!

Also, I am very new to this, and don't even know how to put money into a ROTH. Can I do it through etrade? Maybe some basic articles on ROTH accounts would help too.

Thanks
Print the post Back To Top
Author: SooozFool Three stars, 500 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 50765 of 74759
Subject: Re: Convince me to put money into a ROTH Date: 3/28/2006 3:07 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2
>>If I start putting the maximum amount in at my age, I think I figured I could have around $400K when I retire. That is not going to do anything 30 years from now!<<

Ah, but . . .

(1) Just because you contribute to a Roth doesn't mean you can't save and invest in other savings and investment vehicles as well. Plus, contribution limits will likely be raised in the future. Plus, if you catch on with an employer who has a Roth 401(k), that'd really enhance the contribution limits.