UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (2) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: brucedoe Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 35351  
Subject: Corporate Bonds - Banks Date: 2/9/2009 5:29 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I seem to be hearing that the only way out of our present credit crisis is to wipe out the stock and bond holders of the big banks. When I hear the word bonds, I think this is getting serious. We have a significant slug of a BAC issue and another of a GE issue (which seems to be priced as if it is a bank and did get some bailout money.). To have these two bonds wiped out would really hurt. The BAC bond was rated A+ and the GE AAA. I never got involved in corporate bonds before this decade though I have been investing for more than 50 years. I'm beginning to feel sorry I ever got sucked into getting involved in them.

I still find it hard to believe that BAC will get wiped out. Though I am not one of those who likes to blame the Federal government for everything, I do feel that BAC has been led down the proverbial primrose path in their latest acquisition. I just can't believe that BAC will fail, but that is what people used to say about Pennsylvania Railroad.

And GE is still a profitable company in spite of their financial division's problems. Can you really wipe out their bonds without destroying the entire company?

brucedoe
Print the post Back To Top
Author: jaroman Two stars, 250 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 25927 of 35351
Subject: Re: Corporate Bonds - Banks Date: 2/9/2009 7:31 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
Recommendations: 2