UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (6) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: Prowlermd Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 1260  
Subject: Could I finance a newcar under my circumstances? Date: 8/22/2001 5:21 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
My first time posting in this forum, hello everyone. I am a physician and got divorced last year (a topic for the divorce boards, hehe). Needless to say, I took it in the proverbial shorts financially. I took on all the marital debt (it was a LOT, including a mortgage) and agreed to a large alimony payment, mostly in order to get primary custody of my son. In that, it was worth it to me. However, I found myself temporarily unable to meet my credit obligations. I won't go into the details why, but I eventually settled on Chapter 7 BK to clear all that debt and give my son and myself a fresh start. I filed last Feb (2001) and was discharged in May.

Here is my question: I am going to need another car soon. The one I am driving now is paid for, but is on its last legs (or wheels). I am currently in the Army, but I am getting out next month and moving on to a new job as an anesthesiologist in another state where my income will triple. I'm not making a bad wage now, but it will triple in about 2 months time. Will I be able to finance a new car after my recent BK? Taking into consideration the circumstance that I will now be able to definitely make the payments on it and probably will actually pay off the loan within 6 months. My credit was excellent right up until the time I had to declare BK (my credit went from excellent to really bad in about 3 months time). All because of the divorce. Now that I am in a position that I could easily make payments on a new car, even recently after a BK, do you think a dealer would be willing to take a chance on me and finance a new car for me?