UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (15) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: zsimpson Big funky green star, 20000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 31086  
Subject: Cucumbers Date: 8/5/2001 12:20 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hi gang, this is my first time here, so please be kind. We palnted some cukes this year and have gotten overwhelmed. I've been making cucumber salads, and I'll be pickling them, but we still have too many. Any ideas?
Print the post Back To Top
Author: farminfool Big red star, 1000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 4415 of 31086
Subject: Re: Cucumbers Date: 8/5/2001 6:17 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Relish them. There is a recipe in the Ball canning book that is very good. I just used up my last that I made a few years ago. Excellent and so much better than store bought/factory made stuff, even being a few years old.

Devin

Author: JustFinn One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 4416 of 31086
Subject: Re: Cucumbers Date: 8/5/2001 8:13 AM
Recommendations: 1
Different cuke salad.... Shred with large holes on grater. Salt and let sit to draw of water. Drain. Add vinegar, shopped onion, pepper, and a couple of tablespoons of cream.

At a church function last week, someone brought cukes that had been canned like the candied apples you get in some restaurants for garnish. Red and sweet. They were MARVELOUS. I don't have a recipe for that, however.

Finn (just back from two weeks of canning veggies at a friend's house in the Ozarks)

Author: voelkels Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 4417 of 31086