Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
I am very new to investing and have some money that I want to put in a custodial account to pay for my child's education. After reading some of the information here at the fool it seems that the Foolish thing to do is to buy stocks. What are the tax implications of putting money into a custodial account and when is the best time to buy stock or just transfer stock I own into his account rather than give money?
Print the post Back To Top
Come on JBax - why not go to Vegas and invest? Nothing
against the market but you're talking about a child's
education money! I don't believe the stock market
is the right vehicle for this fund.
Hope some Fools jump in with positive ideas.
Bob
Stock market?!? Vegas?!! C'mon, everyone knows that the best (and maybe only) way to get rich is to play the lottery! So start taking those coins and buy some Powerball tickets now!
i don't think our new Foolish comrade has gained any value from the last two comments. Im no expert, (weasle worded disclaimer) but I'd say if you have 5 or more years to hold, that stocks are definitely the way to go. Im looking for the same answers myself, with a 2 and a 4 year old. I've been weighing off the benefits of using a Roth IRA vs. Education IRA vs. custodial account vs. las vegas. The problem Im having with education iras is that i want to choose my own individual stocks, so i'd like a dirt cheap commission structure (like $7 or so) for stock purchases. The problem is that the deeply discounted online brokers like Ameritrade and Scottrade dont offer Ed IRAs. Etrade does, but at 14.95 a trade, even if you make one purchase a year for your 500. limit in the the Ed IRA per year, you've already paid almost 3% in commissions. Another option is the Roth IRA, here's a link that talks about the benefits of that avenue http://www.irs.gov/prod/hot/not97-604.html