UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: NewPenny Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 978  
Subject: Re: Hating myself with a passion Date: 3/9/2006 3:35 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 7
Davem105,

I didn't really like myself much while growing up. I had a mild hearing loss that the school system saw as deafness, and I was repeatedly encouraged to just sit quietly and not distract the real students. No effort was made to face me when speaking, so I struggled to catch what was said. I joined the Air Force the minute I graduated high school, and found an environment in which I could see my value. That helped turn me around. 12 years later, I was declared unfit for duty due to panic attacks and other psychological injuries. I was told I was entirely worthless and unable to work or do anything else. I sat on the sofa and didn't try doing anything for the next 10 years. OK, I did try for the first year -- determined to prove them wrong. Then I realized that they weren't wrong. I was severely impaired. I sat down and became depressed by all the things I could no longer do and saw myself from their view. By then I had the wake/sleep cycle of a newborn.

One day, after 10 years, I saw a news report about people getting their hair cut for free because they were donating the hair to Locks of Love -- an organization that makes wigs for children with medical hair loss. The donated hair must be 10 inches or longer. Well, after sitting on the sofa for 10 years neglecting myself, my hair was considerably longer than 10 inches! I finally found something I was good at -- growing hair! I asked Mom to cut it off, and I sent it in. I've done it 3 more times since then.

I learned something that day. I learned to concentrate on the things I could do.