Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 6
On the "Anyone Up for a Revival" thread, ThyPeace wrote:

The other things that I still find very difficult are a) chopping all those vegetables and b) finding food that is quick and easy and still actually good for me. I work a lot of hours and work hard with DD who is struggling in school right now. (Four to five hours of homework every night.) So fitting in time for the extensive amounts of cooking we've been doing is really hard. Much of the time, life looks like sleep-chop-eat-work-homework-chop-cook-eat-sleep.

This strikes me as a topic of interest in itself. I have been making my weight trend sideways for almost three years now, and I am an empty nester. But still, I am struck by how much more *time* it takes to eat healthy than it took to eat cheap. (That, and the time required to keep in shape for running; but I love to run, so that's not a problem for me.)

I benefit from apparently having none of the food sensitivities that drive people to things like Whole 30, and from a very generous calorie allowance related to being male and a runner, and I still notice how much time food takes.

Throwing together a standard-for-me salad doesn't take much time, because I pre-chop onions, bell peppers, and baked chicken breast; I use bagged salad rather than chopping lettuce; and I buy pre-sliced mushrooms. Still, I regularly run out of onions, bell peppers, and chicken and have chop (and in the case of chicken, bake) more. It's the overhead of keeping the ingredients stocked that catches my attention.