UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (9) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: codger41 One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 8587  
Subject: Dividend ETF or Income Investor Date: 1/20/2011 11:01 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2
Let me begin by saying that I have never been one to conceal his stupidity or ineptitude. I am rather new to dividend investing and I have been amazed by the sage information and advice found in Motley Fool Income Investor.

I know that James Early and gang do a great job of researching and stock picking, but I am having trouble quantifying the results. For instance, the II web site provides us the information that II has a cuumulative return of 8.8% and that beats the S&P by 7%. Now I see that II has been in the stock picking business since 2003, so the average annual return must be somewhere between 1% and 2%. Also my information is that SPY, the S&P 500 ETF, returned a cumulative 2.2% over the last 5 years. So if II returned 7% more than the S&P, it might have returned 9.2% over the last five years. That checks out...II has an 8.8% total return, very close to 9.2%.