UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (9) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: jperry1230 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 266469  
Subject: Dividend Reinvestments Date: 12/31/2012 1:11 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I was researching brokers on TMF broker list and noticed that "dividend reinvestment" was lined through for ScottTrade. Is this a concern?

I also started wondering, how does dividend reinvestment work in a discount brokerage account? Does the broker buy you fractional shares? Is there a fee for this "purchase?"

I'm very new to this, and it seems there is a lot to learn.

John
Print the post Back To Top
Author: Fuskie Big funky green star, 20000 posts Top Favorite Fools Old School Fool Ticker Guide SC1 Red Winner of the 2010 Rule Breakers Challenge Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 260044 of 266469
Subject: Re: Dividend Reinvestments Date: 12/31/2012 1:30 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
While most all brokers automatically reinvest dividends for mutual funds, not all do so for stocks and ETFs. Fidelity does, Scottrade does not. It is also possible if there is a stock split, such as a 3 for 2 split, which can 3 shares into 4.5 shares.

Some companies I buy specifically for share accumulation through dividend reinvestment, but not all dividends are suited for that goal. So I own some companies through Fidelity and some through Scottrade. That's why you should always research your brokerages to make sure the one or ones you pick work best for you.

Fuskie
Who has not heard of being charged transaction fees specifically for dividend reinvestment, but if you are concerned, check with your broker...