UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (24) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: kbrunson2005 Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76418  
Subject: Divorced, investing settlement for retirement. Date: 1/16/2006 7:59 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
First off, thanks for reading my long post.

Recently, my 45 year old mother received $850,000 as her share of a 20 year marriage that ended in divorce. She spent most of her marriage working on the family farm. She did not pay out any in social security or build her resume and now is working for a local fire department for around 25k a year. I am trying to help her with her financial situation and retirement and would appreciate some honest advice.

I currently work in the finance industry, have my series 7/66, and have a strong interest in personal investing. I think I would be able to manage her finances effectively and am currently weighing her options.

She would like to be able to retire on the money in about 10 years. As for withdrawals: taking out about 10k yearly for a standard of living increase and also taking out 250-300k in a year or two for a house.

I have been thinking about the portfolio below as a possibility. Rebalancing and maxing out a traditional IRA yearly.

33% - Investment Grade Bond funds (4 – 5 year duration)
33% - TIPS
16% - Large Cap Equity (Index funds)
6% - Small Cap Equity
5% - International Equity
4% - REITs
3% - Precious Metals

Obviously she is very risk averse, will be needing income during her retired years, and could probably use some growth over the next decade. 30% of the money needs to be liquid enough to buy a house in a year or two.

She just recently tucked about 400k into 7 month CDs for about 4% annual return. Although these are safe investments, I feel like she could get a better return on her money.

My questions: