UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (6) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: knight427 Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 14985  
Subject: Do they really need a w9? Date: 12/12/2012 11:03 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I have been consulting for about 8 years now. Sending clients a w9 has been standard. I just expanded my consulting business to include selling a computer modeling program. I just made my first sale and the customer is requesting a w9 so they can send out a 1099 at the end of the year. I'm confused because I assumed when you sell a product rather than a service, you aren't receiving income. I mean, I didn't ask HP for a w9 and send them a 1099 after buying my laptop. Of course I will report my profits on sales as income on my tax return, but I guess I am looking for confirmation that my software customers don't need a w9 from me.

Thanks.
Print the post Back To Top
Author: Myownigloo Big funky green star, 20000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 14703 of 14985
Subject: Re: Do they really need a w9? Date: 12/13/2012 3:10 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2