UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (135) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: dividends20 Two stars, 250 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 253091  
Subject: Does this stuff work ? Date: 1/28/2013 10:44 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hi: I am new to mechanical investing. Seems pretty easy. Identify a screen and repeat.

Q - Does this stuff work in real life. Has anyone invested using this method and beaten S&P 500 index over a long period ?
Print the post Back To Top
Author: musselmant Three stars, 500 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 241337 of 253091
Subject: Re: Does this stuff work ? Date: 1/28/2013 11:00 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 38
1. no
2. not very well
3. not as well as people on here say
4. not as well as the backests say
5. the backtests are flawed
6. the data the backtests is based on are flawed
7. results are more random than you might think
8. reaults don't take into account black swans
9. let alone the worst 12 year period in 150 years of stock market history
10. results don't include all start dates, actual transaction costs over time, taxes, inflation, mistakes in placing orders, broker errors, political and legal developments that change the basis for what works and why
11. we hope they work anyway, because we are greedy and aren't happy with index fund returns, and we are self-deluded

Author: FLARAM Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 241338 of 253091
Subject: Re: Does this stuff work ? Date: 1/28/2013 11:31 PM
Recommendations: 6