Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (25) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: TMFMillerTime Big red star, 1000 posts Feste Award Winner! Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 14782  
Subject: down the rabbit hole Date: 3/6/2007 3:30 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 87
As a physician, I find there are days when I really do feel like I fell down the white rabbit's hole into a strange hall at the FDA. Our friends at the FDA recently updated their 1996 draft guidance on "Developing Products for Weight Management". It's pretty boring but for the interested... here she be

http://www.fda.gov/cder/guidance/7544dft.pdf

I'd like to point out a couple of items that might be of interest to investors. Let's talk about a very interesting problem... the potential for drug companies to "invent disease". Here's a great concept. First you make a drug and get it patented... then you invent a disease with which you can use your drug to effect a cure. Sounds far fetched? Look no further than "social anxiety disorder". You may not realize this but social anxiety disorder is said to affect 10 million people in the US alone. But, I thank God as I wipe tears from my eyes, there is a treatment. It is Paxil CR (praise the Lord).
http://panicdisorder.about.com/b/a/036171.htm

There's now a treatment for the scourge of Americana... 10 million people. They were dropping like flies, this is astounding. Well, maybe not. In the old days a nice martini would do just fine to limber up the limbic system. Now we have paxil CR (not plain paxil mind you, nosir... the generic paxil will not! I repeat... will not treat this problem).

Contrast that stance with the FDA's pronouncement on (drum roll)... THE METABOLIC SYNDROME.