Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (5) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: ptchemist Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 25234  
Subject: Easy 401k & IRA Tax Question Date: 6/23/2004 3:36 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I am a recent ChE graduate who got his first job. I promptly contributed to the company's 401k (up to their 4% match) and have maxed out a Roth IRA. I realize my question could easily be asked the taxation board, but it is such an easy question most people on this board should know. When it comes to be April 15th, how do I account for the 401k contribution and the Roth IRA contribution?
As I presently understand it the 401k contribution will show up on the 1040 form under a section specifically asking about 401k contributions. The Roth, however, I am a bit more unsure. It would appear as though I don't need to do any accounting for this until I withdraw. Am I correct? Thanks for your advice.
Print the post Back To Top
Author: Fuskie Big funky green star, 20000 posts Top Favorite Fools Old School Fool Ticker Guide SC1 Red Winner of the 2010 Rule Breakers Challenge Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 17588 of 25234
Subject: Re: Easy 401k & IRA Tax Question Date: 6/23/2004 3:43 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
As I presently understand it the 401k contribution will show up on the 1040 form under a section specifically asking about 401k contributions. The Roth, however, I am a bit more unsure. It would appear as though I don't need to do any accounting for this until I withdraw. Am I correct?