UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (5) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: reikiman Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 50181  
Subject: Re: finance programs for the Mac Date: 1/24/2002 1:53 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 16
Echoing the statement - in my case, I've been using and programming computers since 1972-3 and have programmed in 40+ languages on many OS's, which is to say I'm not a newcomer to computing. So, looking at the different trends in computing -- the thing that stands out is how totally dastardly and domineering that Microshaft is being. This article http://www.theregister.co.uk/content/4/23777.html at The Register describes most of my sentiments about Microsoft very well, except that I've never been a DOS weenie like that author. In short, Microsoft is demanding exacting allegience to only their software, only their web services, to a peculiar form of licensing software, to privacy intrusions supposedly designed to enforcing the peculiar licensing -- and most outrageously, there is the continuing wave after wave of security bugs and continuing flakiness of MS Windows, for which every byte of responsibility is purely Microsofts, for which they are not taking proper responsibility.

In short there's a whole pile of reasons to dislike Microsoft's feeble attempts at software, for which if they weren't such cut-throat competitors they would be dead now because of the poor software.