UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (13) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: VegasRaab Two stars, 250 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 74759  
Subject: efund, house fund, or Roth?? Date: 3/20/2003 3:27 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Well I'm out of debt, and we want to buy a house soon.

I am 27, have $9500 in a 401k, and no IRA, married and have a 2 year old son. My wife stays home with our son, and I make about 80k a year gross income.

I'll have about 4k in savings by April 15th. But really that's the start of the 8k emergency fund I am trying to build in case of job loss mostly (I am a computer programmer).

I was considering taking some money and funding a 2002 Roth IRA. But the other problem is we really want to get into a house within a year, while rates are still low, so I hate to take away from money available for a down payment.

Do you wise Fools see an option that is obviously the best choice for me? Things get a lot more complicated when you get out of Credit card debt, haha.

thanks,

Vegas
Print the post Back To Top
Author: davidcaruso Three stars, 500 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 35927 of 74759
Subject: Re: efund, house fund, or Roth?? Date: 3/20/2003 3:35 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
Out of CC debt is such a good thing.

Either way I would say keep the money you want to put toward a house safe (Suze Orman would agree). You can contribute to a Roth and put it in a MM fund then if you really need it you can take it out. Or you can put it in an ING savings acct. (2+%) or short term CD and have it ready to go when house time rolls around. Either option is OK...no one clear winner.