UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: sturne01 Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 16453  
Subject: English definitions?? Date: 6/4/2004 11:34 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
G'd Morning Gentlemen and Gentle ladies:

Billf suggested I check in with this forum to learn about websites and specifically Godaddy. (Bill has been a great help with some other problems I've been having.)

Now for a disclaimer: I'm a rank beginner in this stuff. I can turn the computer on and follow directions, and use my computer for its word processing capabilities. By profession I'm a writer with a biological background and have used and progressed from the mechanical calculator, slip-stick, programmable calculator, Kay Pro, and now the Internet connected computer using ME. I can navigate reasonably well in WP and Word (still learning Word). The computer and the word processing capabilities have revolutionized my writing. I no longer have to hire a secretary to clean type my material, and I can edit without having to retype again and again. I'd more likely give up sex before I'd give up my computer.

I've used the Internet and e-mail to transport written material and photographs to most of my editors and markets. In some cases this is a rather recent change in others it has been going on for 10 years.

Now for my questions: Many of my acquaintances have set up websites where they can market books and other materials directly to customers. One of my Internet providers, Mediacom, will allow websites to be set up on their system (free), but the wringer in this is they don't allow for commercial transactions.