UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (3) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: flyguy2 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 50161  
Subject: E*Trade Date: 12/14/1999 10:05 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Folks, I'm totally new at this.
I executed my first trades a few weeks back, and was somewhat surprised that they cost me closer to $20 per rather than the advertised $7.95.
Am I the only one that's encountered this? Did I do something really foolish. Is there a brokerage that really does cut a trade for the advertised $7.95? Anyone got answers or similar experiences to share? -j
Print the post Back To Top
Author: XCon One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 20883 of 50161
Subject: Re: E*Trade Date: 12/15/1999 2:28 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 3
E*Trade never advertized that they offer $7.95 trades. You should probably take a few minutes to read the commission schedule on the home page. It clearly states that market orders for NYSE stocks cost $14.95, while limit orders for NYSE and market/limit orders for NASDAQ stocks cost $19.95. They offer rebates on trading commissions for active traders who place 30+ trades per quarter. Commissions for options, bonds, and mutual funds are available at the following link. This info is available from the E*Trade home page by clicking on "About E*Trade" and then "Low Commissions and Rates".

http://www.etrade.com/cgi-bin/gx.cgi/AppLogic+About?gxml=hpc_disc_margin_c.html&lvl=about