Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: bajrang Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121338  
Subject: F-1 student Date: 1/6/1999 9:20 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hi
I am an F-1 student at the university of Illinois.I have been in this country for about 4 months.So I am a non-resident alien.I don't have any of these retirement accounts and my employer is the University which has given me a research assistantship.Could somebody tell me about the tax implications of my investing in the stock market and how I can save on it.The money is entirely mine and I have no relatives in the States.I have never invested before.
I am planning to choose Waterhouse as my discount broker.Hope that is a foolish decision.
Thanks a lot.

Anand
Print the post Back To Top
Author: TMFTaxes Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 8074 of 121338
Subject: Re: F-1 student Date: 1/7/1999 11:24 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
[[Hi]]

Hello...

[[ I am an F-1 student at the university of Illinois.I have been in this country for
about 4 months.So I am a non-resident alien.I don't have any of these retirement
accounts and my employer is the University which has given me a research
assistantship.Could somebody tell me about the tax implications of my investing
in the stock market and how I can save on it.The money is entirely mine and I
have no relatives in the States.I have never invested before.]]

Your best bet would be to read IRS Publications 519 and 901 at the IRS web site.