UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (19) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: VaLurch Big red star, 1000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 36487  
Subject: FAQ Assistance Date: 5/1/1999 7:00 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Long Post Warning-if anyone sees a correction that needs to be made or other helpful additions or deletions--please feel free to post them. My writing tends to the technical side and I'm a newbie with stock investing.

Ideas for the FAQ section:

Q. What are dividend reinvestment plans, or DRiPs?

A. www.boards.fool.com/Message.asp?id=1030009002000
(TMFJeff)

Editorial note: One disadvantage is that you have no control over the timing and price of shares that are bought or sold through the DRiP plan. However, to take advantage of market dips, you can buy additional shares through a broker and transfer them to the DRiP.

Teminology:

DRiP-Dividend ReInvestment Plan
DPP-Direct Purchase Plan
OCP-Optional Cash Purchase/Payment
AT-Automated Transfer

Q. What are some things one should think about when getting ready to invest in DRiPs?

A. www.boards.fool.com/Message.asp?id=1030009002088000
(GLSmyth)

Q. What is a DPP(Direct Purchase Plan)?

A. With a DPP you can purchase stock directly from the company without having to first buy a share through a broker or other source. Most companies with a DPP also offer a DRiP.

Q. Where can I get information on DPPs and DRiPs?

A. Some internet sites which provide information are:

The Motley Fool www.fool.com/DRIPPort/DRIPPortInfoLinks.htm

The Clearinghouse www.enrolldirect.com -lists companies with DPPs.

Netstock Direct www.netstockdirect.com -lists companies with DPPs and DRIPs. This site has a search engine, plan criteria and links to companies.

The Securities Transfer Association www.stai.org published a list of DPPs and links to Reuters MoneyNet data on the companies.