Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (23) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: mhtyler Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 19483  
Subject: financing Date: 5/12/2003 11:00 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Question for retirees. As an early retiree, I'm thinking of buying a new house towards the end of next year. I prefer not to pay cash, and I can borrow from my margin account at the rate of 4.75%. My goal would be to pay off in 5 years or less.

Should I borrow from my own margin account where the rate could go up, or should I finance 15 or 30 years and find a loan that allows payahead.

The kicker here is that I've never tried to buy a house without a job before and I've no idea what the criteria is for a retiree.

thoughts?

thx,

mark
Print the post Back To Top
Author: euphoriant Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 8428 of 19483
Subject: Re: financing Date: 5/12/2003 1:10 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
You might get some good answers from this board:

http://boards.fool.com/Messages.asp?mid=19034339&bid=100144

Author: hotfoot Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 8429 of 19483
Subject: Re: financing Date: 5/12/2003 5:11 PM
Recommendations: 2
The kicker here is that I've never tried to buy a house without a job before and I've no idea what the criteria is for a retiree.

The criteria is not much different from those who are still working.
Lenders still look at the value of the home to be purchased, the real income of the borrower and hence his ability to repay the loan.
The same basic ratios apply..