UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (5) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: shirehobbit Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308474  
Subject: First Experience With CC Fraud Date: 6/28/2012 1:06 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2
Since I've been using credit cards since the mid 1970s I suppose it was bound to happen sooner or later.

I was looking at my transactions on my Citicard yesterday morning because I was getting ready to pay my monthly balance in full and I wanted to make sure all my monthly auto charges had gone through. They had, but I saw a transaction that I knew I hadn't made. I called the phone number of the merchant and told the rep that it was a fraudulent charge and asked her what the item was. She said it was a purchase of a gift card. I have never bought a gift card from that merchant and I wouldn't have done so for that particular dollar amount. The email she gave me is not mine (I don't even use that email provider). She said she could not credit me the amount because it was a gift card. I said, fine, then I'll contact my bank and do a credit card chargeback.

I called Citi and they cancelled my account number and told me I would have a new card the following day. They also temporarily credited my account for the charge in question while it is being disputed.

This morning I got a vm from the merchant saying that since the gift card hadn't been used they deactivated it and are going to credit my account for the amount of the purchase.