Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (9) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: craigt111 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 480  
Subject: Re: DDD Put Date: 1/28/2013 4:19 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
First Luke, my apologies for calling you Jeff (I was in another area, earlier and forgot where I was at). I appreciate all the time you put into your two previous explanations.

But I'm still confused and may not have properly explained what I did (or what I am thinking). I'm new to Options and just got into MF Options, last month (I started with MF, a while back, with Stock Advisor—just buying small amounts of shares to get into it with what little I had to invest, at the time).

I also may be in trouble, if what I thought was the case… isn’t.

With options, my thought was that I would just buy Basic Puts (Sell to Open) to keep it simple, in the beginning.

Presuming the Puts expired AT or BELOW the Strike Price, I would use cash, kept in escrow, to purchase the 100 shares from the buyers of the options that I wrote, and the buyers would exercise those options and sell their shares to me (1 contract each is what I’ve been buying) for the current lower price at expiration (less the Premium I received--held in abeyance in my savings account -- when I originally wrote each Sell to Open).

If the shares, instead, ended up ABOVE the Strike Price, at expiration, my understanding is that the owners of the options would not exercise them. They'd let them expire and I would simply pocket or reinvest the Premium.

Based on your last note to me, I may have underestimated the difficulty in the learning curve (or the process). Here’s where I stand with DDD (and, frankly, a few similar Sell to Open PUTs that I have written in the last month).