UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (9) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: wcfenton Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 75776  
Subject: Re: retirement suggestions Date: 6/6/2005 5:11 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2
first of all thanks to everyone who will offer me any suggestion. i am just trying to get a few more ideas for my retirement savings. a little info about me to i am a 25 y/o officer in the Army, just hit my 3 year mark) will pin captain in the next 2 months or so. my question is two fold, 1)how should i allocate my extra money from hitting the 3 year mark and captain (which will total to 900/month) and 2) i want to look at the level i am funding the TSP since it is not matched for uniformed personnel.
---------------

Hi Vinny...

My first thought was that your portfolio looks like it is pretty much all over the board. Being an Army Officer, you know how important a good plan is, so that's where I would start. Trying to manage as many different investments as you have can be a little burdensome.

Your primary objective in establishing a good plan is to know the reason/s you are investing. Your post states that you are saving/investing for your retirement in XX years, so that is pretty much taken care of.

The next element of your plan should determine how risk averse you are so that you can begin to put together your asset allocation - your ratio of stocks to bonds and what form each will take. In my opinion - this is very important. At your young age, most would tend to invest much heavier in stocks/stock funds then bonds/bond funds and there is certainly nothing wrong with that. Personally, I would not think it wise, however, to totally eliminate bonds no matter how young a person is as they tend to be a stabilizing factor in a portfolio.