UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (15) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: mikeg1382 Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 14985  
Subject: Fishing for ideas.... Date: 7/16/2003 10:44 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
The more I work for an eemployer, the more I find myself wanting to start my own business. Someone once said that to me that the key is to find a niche market and open a business, something that has a high demand and low supply.
I am a chef by trade, and that is pretty much all I have ever done. The problem is, although I still love cooking, I am not so interested in doing it for a living anymore.
What I have been thinking about is radio. In my area, there is a large Latino population, and there used to be a spanish radio station. It was shut down a few months ago, and I am thinking that it would be a great way to make money in this area. Only I don't know much about radio, if anything.
I have other ideas, but this one has really got my attention. I am wondering if any of you would have any suggestions about how to get started in the radio business? The cultural part I am not too worried about, I speak fairly fluent spanish, and my wife and most of my friends are latino, but the business angle eludes me. Would I need to take courses in business management?
These are just my first thoughts, and any suggestions and/or advice would be greatly appreciated. Any suggested reading or good online resources would be very helpful as well. Thanks in advance!

Mike in NJ
Print the post Back To Top
Author: abbagirl Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 7834 of 14985
Subject: Re: Fishing for ideas.... Date: 7/16/2003 11:15 AM