UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: SoCalFool18 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308684  
Subject: Fixing Error In Credit Report Date: 1/9/2001 2:00 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hi Everyone,

I have been reading this board for a few months now, but this is my first time posting. I hoping I can get some advice. I recently ordered a copy of my credit report and found something quite disturbing.

When I was 17, my mother signed up for a credit card with Household Bank and listed me as a joint account holder. Long story short, she had trouble paying her bills, and the card was charged off with $575 never paid a few years ago. I never used the card, and did not think it would effect me since I was a minor at the time.

I'm 24 now and shopping for car loans, so I ordered a copy of my credit report, which shows this credit account as charged off to me! I've never had any late payments on any of my own accounts, and I never even used this card. Am I still responsible since my name was listed as a joint account holder on my mom's account? Is there anything I can do to remove this, even though a few years have gone by? Please help, I'm really frustrated about having this on my credit report when I've been so diligant about paying my own bills on time. Do I have to wait 7 years for this to do away.

P.S. I have no balances on any other cards (I pay them off each month) but I'm also wondering if I'm doomed to a high interest rate on a car loan because of this. Is there anything I can do?
Print the post Back To Top
Author: nomorecards Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 53533 of 308684
Subject: Re: Fixing Error In Credit Report Date: 1/9/2001 2:12 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!