UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (61) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: cable666 Big red star, 1000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308355  
Subject: Get me off this crazy machine!!! Date: 5/27/1998 7:25 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I'm a newbie to this board and I must say I'm impressed with the quality of the questions and and answers.

I'm looking for some alternative opinions about my plans. I hired an attorney to help guide me out of my mess. I always make better decisions after I listen to all sides of an issue. I would like some feedback other than my attorney's.

In brief, I'm 34 years old with over $60K of CC debt. I didn't get there overnight. It took years of mismanagement, stress, floating checks, etc. to get there. I was running with deficit financing for a long time and didn't want to acknowldge it. I wasn't anything fancy either. A few car repairs, dinner here and there once in a while, lots of little things. It was mindless to do. I could make the monthly payments, what is a couple hundred more bucks a month gonna do? Besides, I had a flawless credit record and had never missed a payment in my life.

Over the last three years things got tighter and tighter. Those monthly minimum payments increased until they were over $1000 a month. I found I didn't have enough left over to stock up the fridge and pantry for the month.

The stress of paying my bills was killing me. I found my self having to pay the utilties as late as possible, because I had emptied out the account making a minimum cc payment.

On New Years I decided to get off this crazy credit card machine no matter how much it hurt. I "woke up" in December when I saw that I could't even buy my wife a small x-mas gift without asking for a credit line increase, I decided it was time for a very fundemental change in the way I was running my life.