Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (2) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: bsturgen One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 8764  
Subject: Re: RuleBreaker / Gorilla ?? Date: 3/23/2000 1:55 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0

grimani wrote:

Discussion on whether PALM is a RB, and if so, when the best time to buy is...

http://boards.fool.com/Message.asp?id=1210585000270000&sort=id

read the link. found it informative, well written, etc.
i'm new to the GG, and am not completely finished with the book, but last night while reading i began to wonder if the handheld market is "in the tornado" and whether palm was a gorilla or gorilla potential within this market.

the handheld market is not new. in the 1980's i had a neat digital watch (casio) that could hold phone numbers and so forth. the newton (one of my favorites) was a cool little pda. pda's are a big thing now. now qcom and nok are/have been shipping mobile phones with pda capability.

first, is this discontinuous technology? imo the answer is "it depends." is the palm top an extension of the desktop? i could argue either way on that one. in the end, i think the palm top may be a discontinuous technology because the applications have the potential of running on a diverse set of devices (i.e. pda, pager, wrist watch, etc.). the palm top is also a paradigm shift from bulkier desktops to the info-appliance. but in the end i am not sure on this one.