Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif
No. of Recommendations: 0
He gets relief from an immovable obstruction if it interferes with his stance or his swing. Apparently Na thought the cart path interfered with his stance, but not his swing.


NOPE! He stood on the path when he hit the shot!

IF he had declared interference with his stance, he would have be required to take "complete relief" from the immovable obstruction, as Rule 24 states:

• b. Relief
Except when the ball is in a water hazard or a lateral water hazard, a player may take relief from interference by an immovable obstruction as follows:

(i) Through the Green: If the ball lies through the green, the player must lift the ball and drop it, without penalty, within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must not be in a hazard or on a putting green. When the ball is dropped within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, the ball must first strike a part of the course at a spot that avoids interference by the immovable obstruction and is not in a hazard and not on a putting green.

If you had watched the whole incident, you would have noted that Na dropped his ball on the path.

a man who watched
Print the post  


When Life Gives You Lemons
We all have had hardships and made poor decisions. The important thing is how we respond and grow. Read the story of a Fool who started from nothing, and looks to gain everything.
Contact Us
Contact Customer Service and other Fool departments here.
Work for Fools?
Winner of the Washingtonian great places to work, and Glassdoor #1 Company to Work For 2015! Have access to all of TMF's online and email products for FREE, and be paid for your contributions to TMF! Click the link and start your Fool career.