Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (2) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: edkohler Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 15587  
Subject: Re: Yahoo charging for listings? Date: 11/18/2001 6:18 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
Hello Maraith,

this change ($199-$299) took place at the end of the summer. In my opinion, it was partly in response to Looksmart moving their submission fees up to $299 as well. (it's $600 for Adult content, but that shouldn't stop the most profitable online industry from getting listed.)

I work in the Web Marketing industry, so I'm often asked about whether it's worth paying to submit a site to Yahoo. The link below explains why it's a simple "yes" for anyone trying to run a business online.

http://haystackinaneedle.com/cgi-bin/faq/smartfaq.cgi?answer=1003177443&id=1003176438

Of course, things are always changing fast in the search engine positioning industry. For example, the addition of paid search listings on Yahoo will dilute the value of a Yahoo listing and increase the value of using Overture for paid search term marketing. However, Yahoo MAY make more money syndicating Overture listings than they are making maintaining their own directory.

Yahoo has improved the format of their search results over the past few months, and I feel that it has improved the quality of results. The combination of Sponsored results (often very relative to the search term or why would people buy them), Yahoo directory results, and Google.com results bring a lot of relavent results together for users. I'm confident that Yahoo users will find quality results for their searches using Yahoo, which is key. Without that, users will not set Yahoo as their homepage.