No. of Recommendations: 0
I am a teacher in Indiana, and our corporation's 403b program offering is quite small.

I have read a great deal of info about investing, and everything I've come across says to invest all you can in pre-tax offerings, if available.

I, of course have opted to invest in their meager index offerings, which have no 12b-1 fees and lower management (.3-.4) than others such as American, Blackrock, etc., whose fees are almost 2%.

I am currently investing the max ($15.5K) These are my allocations: Metlife Mid Cap 20%, Metlife Stock Index 25%, Russell 2000 20%, Morgan EAFE index 25% and Lehmman Index 10%.

I am concerned that I am not diversified enough, and that even though these are pre-tax contributions, it may be better in the long run to invest outside of the 403b. I'm also worried about diversification because I realize some of these indices are related to others in the big picture.

We are also close to the cap for IRA's so I'm not sure I can invest in other tax sheltered options.

Any thoughts or ideas?
Thanks so much for your time!
Tammy
Print the post Back To Top
I, of course have opted to invest in their meager index offerings, which have no 12b-1 fees and lower management (.3-.4) than others such as American, Blackrock, etc., whose fees are almost 2%.

I am currently investing the max ($15.5K) These are my allocations: Metlife Mid Cap 20%, Metlife Stock Index 25%, Russell 2000 20%, Morgan EAFE index 25% and Lehmman Index 10%.

I am concerned that I am not diversified enough

This looks like a diversified portfolio to me. Index funds are by definition diversified. Unless it's a sector fund.

Not diversified is being invested only in your company's stock.

I tried to run it through Morningstar's x-ray, but I think I'm too tired right now. Here's the link if you want to try it.
http://portfolio.morningstar.com/NewPort/Free/InstantXRayDEn...

Vickifool
No. of Recommendations: 1