Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (5) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: mdgrose Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 606  
Subject: Hi Date: 3/6/2002 6:56 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
Hi
I am new to this board. I am a New Zealand instructor with about 550 hours, including Muliti IFR. Is there a website, or does anyone have any information regarding converting foreign licences into FAA licences? I have tried emailing the FAA and negotiating their website, but without much luck. Some of the terminology confuses me also. What is the difference between a CFI and a CFII? A CFI here is the Chief Flying Instructor.
Any help here would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Matt
Print the post Back To Top
Author: VodounGroove Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 76 of 606
Subject: Re: Hi Date: 3/6/2002 7:11 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
It would figure you'd already found this board. :-)

Welcome here, too!

Kaiti

Author: wzo Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 78 of 606
Subject: Re: Hi Date: 3/7/2002 12:19 AM
Recommendations: 0
A CFI is a Certified Flight Instructor. A CFI can instruct a student to become a Recreational Pilot, Private Pilot or Commercial Pilot in single engine airplanes.

A CFII has the additonal privilage of instructing a private or commercial pilot to earn an instrument rating.

An MEI, is a multi-engine instructor.

Check out the web site called thecfi.com. It is a great site and provides a steady discussion group for instructors