Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: op456op Three stars, 500 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121438  
Subject: Re: Dividend Stocks or Dividend ETFs Date: 1/28/2013 12:21 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hi Caroline,

I am far from an expert on tax strategies, but since no one else has answered, I'll take a stab at it.

First, I assume the ML & Fidelity accounts are after tax accounts and not an IRA type account.

With regard to the CEF's, I know of one REIT (mainly because I own it) that is pretty straight forward on dividends and that is VNQ (also from Vanguard, more on that later). It is a open-end index fund of REITS so that makes it simpler. You don't have to worry about a Return on Capital event or K-1. Their dividends are just straightforward dividends and I've been collecting them since Dec 2004 (in an IRA). Being a REIT they do generate lots of dividends, but it sounds like that's what you want to supplement your current income. Partnerships as you seem to know are more complicated so if your goal is to keep your taxes simple, steer clear.

The 2 Vanguard dividend ETF's you mention also will be straightforward.

Now, what follows is my personal opinion but I would move my funds to Vanguard. A couple of reasons:

1. Merrill Lynch is a full service broker and as such their fees are much higher than a discount broker like Vanguard. I think Fidelity is OK on fees, but still higher on commissions
2. I think Vanguard is the most shareholder friendly broker there is. They manage their ETF's at cost, AND...... there are NO COMMISSIONS!!!!.... on their ETF's when held at Vanguard. That's right, it doesn't cost to buy and sell their ETF's.