UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (10) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: achiang One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 2818  
Subject: Re: Re: Questions Date: 6/6/2000 4:00 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 7
Hi, I am a college student who has not yet started investing. I have a "fantasy" portfolio whereby I can see some of the ups and downs of investing before I invest some real money. When I do decide to invest it is going to be with a small amount ($1000). My question is what would be the best place to invest; stocks, drips, mutual funds, etc?

Hola,

My advice is to wander around the Fool's website and read as many of the articles and documents as you can before your head starts to swim. Start with the 13 steps of Foolish investing and branch off from there.

Read a little bit more every day - you don't have to read a whole lot, but make sure that at least a little bit more of it makes sense each time.

Keep playing with your fantasy portfolio and keep records on it. Pick a strategy you think you would like and implement it in your fantasy port. Keep a diary/log/whatever so that you keep learning from it.

When you're finally ready to spend real money, you'll be able to judge for yourself the best place to invest.
An annoying answer, to be sure, but it's the start down the path to financial enlightenment and independence.

But, since you asked, I would suggest staying away from mutual funds as well as the Foolish Four. The reason for avoiding mutual funds will be obvious once you start reading some more info around this site. My reasoning for avoiding the FF is because you don't have that much money to invest (yet), and the broker's fees will eat heavily into any profits you might make.