UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (6) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: purcellgal Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 27818  
Subject: Hit the 1K mark Date: 5/15/2012 8:09 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 7
For my 2011 taxes, I hit 1K+ in dividend payments. I earned $1186 in ordinary dividend income, and had another $23 in return of capital from my one REIT DRIP. All monies were reinvested.

According to Quicken, my "amount invested" on December 31st of 2011 was $25,575.27. "Amount invested" is just the money spent on cash purchases and investing fees, it doesn't include dividend reinvestment. I use that calculation so I can see how much of my own cash I put into buying each stock.

I've been buying stock for exactly 10 years. I started in May of 2002 and now it's May of 2012. I started with 1.377 shares of Paychex, and three months later I had my first reinvested dividend of .88 cents.
Print the post Back To Top
Author: WyneFool Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 27731 of 27818
Subject: Re: Hit the 1K mark Date: 5/17/2012 12:46 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
Congrats! It took a while to get to my first $1K of dividends also. I was so busy looking for new investments I missed it! It is nice to see your investments grow "automatically" now isn't it?

Author: purcellgal Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 27732 of 27818
Subject: Re: Hit the 1K mark Date: 5/19/2012 3:19 AM
Recommendations: 5
It's fantastic, especially when I enter in new dividend payments and the share amount is 1.123 instead of .01123 (when I was starting).