Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (15) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: impezman Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 44599  
Subject: How long to hold a short position? Date: 11/11/1999 8:56 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
Hello all:

I am new to shorting, just got my margin account today.
I searched the MF message boards and found no subject that seemed to match this:

I noticed MF seems to believe in two things - holding long positions and also shorting some stocks (no day trading or options, etc.).

I have 2 questions about shorting:

1) How long do you personally keep your average short position in a stock. Is it usually a matter of hours, days, months?

Does your broker charge interest on your short stock? How does that work. I'm with DLJDirect, and found no specific info about interest or other hidden monetary costs in shorts.

Any input is greatly appreciated.

Pez
Print the post Back To Top
Author: iambrucewayne One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 5997 of 44599
Subject: Re: How long to hold a short position? Date: 11/11/1999 10:42 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
1) How long do you personally keep your average short position in a stock. Is it usually a matter of hours, days, months?
A few months.
Short-term movements can never really be predicted with any accuracy.
However, since you can make only 100% shorting (and hypothetically an infinite amount long) holding shorts for years IMO is not wise because you can only make so much on a short. Anyways, stock prices reflect the results of the firm's operations and..... a few months should be long enough for the world to realize what operating results the firm is achieving.--Bruce