Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (194) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: luvabull Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 157043  
Subject: How Microsoft Hurts The Consumer Date: 4/12/2000 6:43 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 174
How A Microsoft Monopoly Hurts The Consumer.

I posted this on the Yahoo! board but don't expect any real response there. Hopefully some of you might find this interesting and useful, or maybe provide me some insight and solace. Critical comments are welcome as well. Polite ones, anyway.

I am a developer of software. I always considered myself to be supportive of a free market, but I don't support that anymore -- I believe that some government intervention is necessary. I don't have any idea how they are going to be able to solve this problem, given its nature. I'm hoping the cure is better than the illness.

Since Windows is the dominant operating system, I am forced to work within it in order to reach a larger market. That doesn't hurt me so much as it limits my choices.

Hurt #1: Windows is not an operating system. It is a shell laying over DOS. I have been lied to. We've all been lied to.

Hurt #2: The Windows API is difficult to learn and program. Adding to that difficulty, MSFT frequently changes the underlying mechanisms -- in order to give its own application developers an advantage in rolling out apps with new features whenever a new Windows version ships. This is what hurt Lotus for a big example. So I guess I won't write an innovative new spreadsheet program. Consumers get hurt by lack of choice.