UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (7) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: vkguttal Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308881  
Subject: How to get a Credit Card? Date: 1/30/2001 4:20 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hello Folks.

I am new to this country and have come here on a work permit, H1B Visa (i.e.,I am not a Green Card holder or a citizen). I earn upto 100,000/annum. Since my entry into this country, I am facing a Catch22 situation. I can't get a credit card because I dont have a credit history and I can't build one as I dont have a credit card.

Further to this Credit card saga, I am facing an uphill task of getting any credit sanctioned however samm it is and hence the services associated with them : be it car loan, renting apartment, getting a car on rent or worst even getting telephone connection, electicity gas connection, Cell phone service....

All these guys seek so called 'Credit History'. As I am new, I have NONE! They seem to believe the credit reporting agencies about my ability to pay back the debts rather than believing other forms of proofs like my pay stubs, employer letter, co-signer etc.

I would not have terribly worried about not having the credit card at all and would have managed with Checks and cash, but here in USA, it seems that one can't live without a Credit Card as in some places they dont even accept checks or CASH (for example like car rental agencies)!. Hence I need that magic card called 'Credit Card' BADLY to build up the Credit History etc.

I have tried relentlessly in getting credit card from a number of Credit Card companies like Banks, Credit Union (for example DCU) etc. All have turned me down saying that I DONT HAVE A CREDIT HISTORY. I am not a member of any Credit Union neither is my company and hence Credit union do not issue me a credit card.