UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (3) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: luckyengr One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 75892  
Subject: How to get Early Retirement pension? Date: 6/23/2000 12:15 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I have a pension in an international oil company that I left 10 years ago at age 27.
I also have a second pension in another company that I just left after about 9
years.

I may be in a position to retire in the next year or so when I am 38 or 39.

The problem is that both companies say that I can not access the pensions until I
am 55 or 65. Can they do this? I would really prefer rolling the pension into an
IRA.

Hi luckyengr,

I'm not an expert in this area, but if it is a Pension and not a 401k (or 403b), I would
think that the company can require you to wait until you are 55 for a disbursement.

Have you told the company that you would accept a smaller amount if you received it
now?

You may want to Post your question on the Retirement Investing discussion board. Here
is a link:
http://boards.fool.com/Messages.asp?id=1040013000000000

Fool On,

Keith O'Malley
TMFKGOMalley
Print the post Back To Top
Author: TMFExRO Big red star, 1000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 22809 of 75892
Subject: Re: How to get Early Retirement pension? Date: 6/23/2000 1:25 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
<< The problem is that both companies say that I can not access the pensions until I
am 55 or 65. Can they do this? >>

Yes, they can.

TMF ExRO
Phil Marti

Author: JABoa Big gold star, 5000 posts Feste Award Nominee! Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 22812 of 75892