Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (6) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: footsox Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121272  
Subject: How to sign POA - Taxes for mom Date: 4/16/2011 3:28 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
My mother is an alzheimer's patient. I have Durable Power of Attorney for her. Her CPA and I have just finished a couple years back taxes that she never did, so I need to sign them for her and send them in.

So do I sign my name, and then write "POA for" and then her name? Does anyone know the proper way to sign the POA signature? Something like "Bob Smith POA for Evelyn Smith." I am new to the POA thing... Thanks for any info.

Footsox
Print the post Back To Top
Author: ptheland Big gold star, 5000 posts Feste Award Nominee! Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 113161 of 121272
Subject: Re: How to sign POA - Taxes for mom Date: 4/16/2011 1:46 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 3
Something like "Bob Smith POA for Evelyn Smith."

That will do.

I'm tempted to say it's close enough for government work, but I think I won't. :-)

--Peter

Author: Donna405 Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 113170 of 121272
Subject: Re: How to sign POA - Taxes for mom Date: 4/16/2011 6:21 PM
Recommendations: 5
You are not "POA". The document is the POA. You are the attorney in fact for your mother. Thus, the signatures should read "You" as Attorney in Fact for "your mother". Use names instead of the words in quotes.

Donna (real-estate paralegal)