Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (7) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: kahunacfa Big funky green star, 20000 posts Top Favorite Fools Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 27417  
Subject: Re: Novice's first 5 months Date: 2/17/2007 10:54 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 11
I am a retired Portfolio Manager/Analyst. I took my first full-time investment analyst position in October 1976 after considering the four offers I had open to choose from at the time: Central Trust in Cincinnati, First National Bank of Miami, First National Bank of Colorado Springs, and Wausau Insurance Companies (http://www.wausau.com) since acquired - twice first by Nationwide then Nationwide of Columbus, Ohio. I retired from my last Investment Position as a Venture Capital Private Equity Portfolio manager in October 1995. I now am a full-time volunteer, and a part-time para-legal studies student.

My very large IRA, started in 1980 has about 20 or 25 stocks. I have owned some companies for several decades. I have about two to five new investments per year. I only buy a new investment idea if, and only if my analysis leads me to believe that the stock can be a four-bagger in three to five years. My one, almost sell rule when a stock becomes a four-bagger is to sell 25% or 1/4 of my position. For example a few years ago, the year 2000, I believe, I bought a small position in Xerox(XRX) at $4 per share for my IRA. Last year, I sold 25% or 1,000 shares at $17.37. I have retained the remaining shares because my valuation work leads me to the conclusion that Xerox is worth between $28 - $32 per share - yes I did leave some gains "on-the-table", but I had other companies that will be four-baggers in the next three to five years that I wanted to and did buy.