Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (6) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: DurnibIII Two stars, 250 posts CAPS All Star Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 57302  
Subject: I disagree with my Dr. re: Smoking Date: 10/23/2009 12:14 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 3
...and not in the way you think. I decided, for the first time since I started smoking 9 years ago, that I am going to quit. This is my first attempt to quit. I have no idea how to do it or how I'm going to be at it. I'm pretty nervous about the whole idea actually.

Anyway, I called my doctor this morning to ask for any advice re: patch, gum, prescriptions, etc. And he actually told me NOT to quit right now. To hold off and plan on quitting in a few weeks. His reasoning is I started a new job on October 10th, and I do suffer from anxiety and depression. Both of which I'm on some medium level meds for. Now, I tell you all that trusting that it's ok to share it. If not, I'll go to the Depression Board for support. But I'm not here to talk about that. I'm here to talk about my decision to quit.

My best friend just called me in reaction to my telling him my doctor said do not quit and he agreed with my doctor.

I'm telling you, I'm in some kind of bizarro word. For 9 years people have been saying "quit, quit, quit." Now I decide to, and they say "Well, we didn't mean now."

I want a smoke. I do. But I'm trying to occupy myself and not have one.

I guess what I want to know is, has anyone EVER been told not to quit "just yet?" Is that normal?

Thanks. And sorry for the rambling. I'm so effing confused.

-b.
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Print the post Back To Top