No. of Recommendations: 4
I don't know all the men and women in the USA but I do know that over the years, women have picked up firearms and gone through training. I was a member of a women's shooting groups for several years and everyone had their own story. Some grew up hunting, some had boyfriends who did and wanted to learn from an instructor how to handle firearms safely, some had been robbed or worse and wanted to learn how they could protect themselves, some just wanted to learn how to shoot, take training and classroom time with instructors, get a CDL. I fit that last category.

WHen I started riding a motorcycle back in the late 70's, my father was worried and gave me a gun to protect myself. He had always carried a gun, since he owned a business in a sketchy area and had to work late and weekends too. My father was thoughtful but didn't provide any training but I knew not to look down the barrel or play with the trigger mechanism. :). I didn't carry while riding, the shoulder holster he gave me was not comfortable. I carried a Buck knife instead which thankfully had to threaten somebody with. It amazes me that this was before cellphones. :). It helps to be young and fearless. I did however carry the gun when I worked late at night and weekends, in my pocket or a paper bag or satchel.<rolling my eyes>. Thank goodness nothing ever happened except for the drunk UPS man knocked on my door to say hello......that could have been a threatening situation looking back on it...much bigger than me and he was drunk and on friendly terms as our regular routeman....I shooed him out of there.