UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (17) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: Institution One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308570  
Subject: Re: CC+Student Loans=$150K: Help! Date: 5/24/2001 10:02 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 30
I have about $150K total debt (not counting my car loan, which is still around $8K): $25,500 is credit cards, the rest (!) is student loans. My loans were not originally that large, but I've never been able to afford to start payments (I graduated 4 years ago with my PhD), so even though I get forebearances, the interest capitalizes and the principal continues to grow (I should mention they're already consolidated with a 30 year payment).

Okay, I am going to make an assumption here from what I read in this paragraph: whatever else you are doing to handle your credit cards, car loan, and spending, you are not paying anything toward the student loans at the moment, and the balance continues to compound daily. If I'm understanding this correctly, let me just say now: Danger, Will Robinson!

I have acquaintances who have tried the long-term forbearance plan, and they are the kind of people who end up living in their mom's basement at 50 years old, wondering what happened. I don't mean to say that that's going to happen to you, but it is possible, and I know that when it does happen, people end up very, very bitter. Student loans don't ever go away; it is nearly impossible to discharge them in bankruptcy, even if you are disabled or impoverished. In my opinion, you need to start taking some action on the student loans.