UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (11) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: FLARAM Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 260  
Subject: Re: Anyone home? EXCEL data extraction? Date: 8/15/2007 9:31 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2
I have been using SIPro and Motley Fool for several years and never noticed this board. Maybe I can add to some of the answers to a couple of questions if they haven’t already been answered.

There are several questions about extracting data from SI Pro to EXCEL. You can do this several different ways. The most obvious way is to create a custom view with the fields you want to extract, then use the extract data function which can give you the data you want in several different forms – Excel, CSV, Tab separated and other formats.

Another way is to pull the data directly out of the **.dbf tables, Keelix at "_ttp://keelix.com/investing/index.cgi?BacktesterNotes"; as previously mentioned goes even further and gives you some PHP scripts for extracting the data directly from the SI Pro data and puts into a data base without even installing SI Pro. But that requires a significant software capability beyond the capabilities of most here on the board. I use a commercial software which allows me to extract the data each week and put it in a MySQL database. However at the present time I have to execute rather cumbersome but very powerful SQL Queries to get the data.

I haven’t actually used the program but have talked to a couple of people that love it and was told that the AAII staff use it a program called XLQ that costs $100 if you are an AAII member. This allows direct access from EXCEL. http://www.qmatix.com/XLQ.htm
The example their web site gives is =xlqAAII / xlqAAIIDescrip retrieves over 2800 data points from AAII Stock Investor Pro