UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (27) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: brwhiz Two stars, 250 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 74759  
Subject: Re: How low do I let it go? Date: 6/19/2002 11:43 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I hope to retire in 2011. I selected an S&P index fund as my largest retirement investment vehicle 11 years ago. I made that decision because I had "learned enough to take control" of my investments. I'm not interested in exercising the degree of investing "control" that brwhiz advocates; I have a REAL life away from corporate/fund research reports, spreadsheets and charts . . . . and THAT is what works for me.

I hope to retire in 2009. I got a late start on doing something about it in August 1998, so I have only the past 4 years of experience on which to base performance expectations. None of the index funds has EVER shown the level of performance I need to accomplish my goals. So I had to develop an alternative plan. And I too have a life outside my investments. I'm just willing to devote more of my time time and take more control over my investments than settling for the roller coaster performance of any of the index funds. I'm not advocating that anyone change their investing strategies if they are comfortable with their current plan. It's just that I know too many people who thought that index funds were the end-all of investments and are now bemoaning the huge hole in their fund balance.