UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (8) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: Colovion Big funky green star, 20000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 753424  
Subject: Re: How Capitalism Can Save Art Date: 10/8/2012 11:29 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I never experienced that. I went off to college and never left. I attended both the University of Georgia and the University of Tennessee and never experienced this defamation ya'll believe exists. Not only did I attended two major Universities but afterwards I worked at the Uni. of GA School of Pharmacy and the Uni. of TN College of Vet Medicine. We never talked about politics nor was it mentioned. It just wasn't an issue.

Oh, I've seen it, heard it and experienced it big time here at UofM.

When I was a student (1996-2001) Clinton was President (Bush when I graduated) so I went through two Presidential elections as an undergrad. I was a member of the College Republicans, and things got very testy for us during the Clinton/Dole campaign. Besides being called Nazis by the editor of the campus paper (we chalked the Diag on the same night as the LGBT group did, apparently our chalking on their pink triangle was a "hate crime" in their eyes, lol!) and one of my professors flat out said in class that if a Republican was ever elected President he'd turn this country into a penal colony. This wasn't a Poli Sci class, but rather a Medieval European History class so it wasn't at all related to the course material. He just really hated Republicans.