Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (45) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: mazske Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 5069  
Subject: Re: FIRE entirely on salary Date: 1/5/2007 10:29 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 17
I plan to FIRE at age 50. The most money I have ever made in one year so far is about $39,000. The most my wife has ever made is around $14,000 in a year.

I have two kids.

I am buying my home.

I spent about 10 years in the Navy as an enlisted person and am currently in the Reserves. I can retire soon, but won't receive any pension until age 60.

I am a police officer. I have done this for about 9 years. I plan to retire early from this job when I have 20 years in.

I have saved something since my 20's. Never a lot, but through the years, it's gone up, sometimes down, but slowly, ever so slowly, it grows.

My house will be paid off the year I plan to retire.

Since health insurance is the curveball that I don't want to knock me out, there probably is a good chance I'll work after age 50 in some capacity.

I've written my first book, due to come out this year. It's a novel. I may not make much off of this, but then again, maybe I will. It's the first book of hopefully many more. Maybe I'll write FT when I'm age 50. We'll see.

I'm also the president of a Foundation that I'm the co-founder of. I'm trying to promote literacy to reduce crime and to improve society. Along with the Foundation, The Book 'Em Foundation, I have started several literacy programs that I'm working on spreading globally. I'm working on spreading my Book 'Em event globally as well.

Who knows, but maybe this Foundation will grow that by the time I'm planning to FIRE, I can start drawing a salary.